Florence Court House
Florence Court House, located just outside Enniskillen in Count Fermanagh, Northern Ireland is an 18th century estate. Originally built by Esquire John Cole sometime before 1718, it was later expanded. By 1768 the large central block had been built, though the architect still remains unknown. By 1780, the house stood as it stands today.
In 1955 it’s ownership was transferred to the National Trust, and less than two years later, a large fire destroyed most of the upper floors. Since then, the various rooms have been reconstructed as close as possible to the originals, but some still remain closed even now.
A popular site for weddings and famously named after Cole’s wife, now you too can experience the romantic setting of Florence Court House!
Florence Court House
It’s a beautiful Georgian house with baroque plasterwork in the study and library. The building is a mix of limestone and sandstone due to its staggering construction.
The house sits on fourteen acres of grounds. It decorated in a rococo style and has many original Irish furniture. Although most pieces were removed when the family left Florence Court in 1973, many of these were returned in the late 1990s after the death of the Dowager Countess.
The main pleasure garden was landscaped during the mid-1800s and later repaired by the Nation Trust. It has a variety of plants, both temperate and tropical, and is near the famous Florence Court Yew. This is one of only two surviving Yew trees found in 1767 and is the predecessor of almost every Irish Yew tree worldwide.
The garden also features a summer house, which is a 1980s reconstruction of the original house from the 1700s. It has a thatched roof and cobbled floors, the latter of which is authentic 18th century stone. It also features many scenic views of the garden.
Rose Cottage was built during the 1870s and is located on the western side of the gardens. Previously used to house the head gardener when Florence Court was occupied, it’s now used as a holiday home.
It was restored in the mid-1990s and is regularly let out to tourists. It includes central heating, laundry facilities, kitchen facilities, as well as an outdoor play area for children and infants.
The walled garden was landscaped during the 17-and-1800s. It covers four acres of the fourteen-acre estate and has many original features today. These include ponds, orchards, and flower patches, the most notable of which is the rose garden.
The National Trust started restoring the garden to its former glory late 2017 and the project is still ongoing. Thanks to a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund, they will be able to rebuild glasshouses that have been derelict since the 1930s, as well as the kitchen gardens. Two acres have already been restored, and visitors can now walk amongst seasonal herbs, fruit and vegetables.
Map & Directions
Terrain: Flat, with paved footpaths and gravel walkways.
Restaurants: Café onsite, as well as a picnic area.
Shopping: Gift shop available.
- Grounds: Mon-Fri, 10am-4pm & Sat-Sun, 10am-5pm
- Café: Sat-Sun, 10.30am-4.30pm
- House: Temporarily Closed
*as listed Sep, 2020